Behind The New Look, pt. 1

Ok, I don’t know about you but it’s driven me nuts to have a blog and not be able to do the things that I want to do with it unless I pay for it. Things like a cute background, buttons, graphics, etc. I have spent too much time on google trying to find someone to tell me how to make the changes that I want myself, which has been the most confusing thing ever btw. Here’s the problem the way I see it, I kind of have the mind of a graphic designer and I love to make things look good and to figure out how to do it myself so this is probably where my irritation with blogs/web stuff comes from. Well seeings that I have an IT man for a husband I should’ve thought to ask him if he knew how to do any of the things that I was wanting to do dealing with html code and buttons LONG before yesterday because of course he knew what to do!

This all started when I got the code for a button link from Shawna over at styleberry’s blog and I tried to put that on my widgets menu. I didn’t have too high of hopes when I was doing it because I hadn’t had much luck yet but it worked. I put a txt box in my menu and put the html code she gave me there and hit save, went to my website and there it was! This made my brain start to think. ~how do I change what this says to make what I want happen?~ This is where I enlisted the help of my very intelligent husband. After explaining that I wanted to go into photoshop and make my own graphics and then use them to link to my different accounts (twitter, pinterest, etc.) but how do I use this html code to make that happen, he was all over it!

I’ll be posting the rest of this info within the next couple of days ~otherwise it would take forever for me to type it all out!~ So check back and I’ll have a full how-to if you’re interested in changing your blog’s look! Mind you I’m not a web master (that would be my brother-in-law, Tim) but I now know how to do what made my blog personal, which is a good start for me! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Behind The New Look, pt. 1

Leave a comment